Awards & Recognition


Each year, we proudly honour excellence in the legal profession

Our annual National Awards celebrate individual excellence, outstanding achievements and superior contributions to the association and the legal profession. We also recognize industry excellence through other awards, fellowships and recognition programs.

If you know someone who has made a difference, we welcome your nominations.

Categories include:

The James H. Bocking Memorial Award

Recognizes best scholarly paper/article submitted to the CBA Competition Law Section on a subject relating to Canadian competition law or policy.

The Louis St-Laurent Award of Excellence

The Louis St-Laurent award of Excellence is the highest award conferred to a CBA member in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding service and professional achievement to the benefit of the legal profession, the CBA and society at large.

The Paul Smith Memorial Award

Recognizes the best scholarly paper/article submitted to the Administrative Law Section on a subject relating to Canadian administrative law or justice, public policy or public affairs related to same.

Touchstone Award

Recognizes the promotion of equality in the legal profession, the judiciary or the legal community in Canada.

Viscount Bennett Fellowship

Rewards a promising Canadian student with a $25,000 scholarship to encourage high standards of legal education, training and ethics.

Volunteer in Profile (VIP) Award

The Volunteer in Profile Award recognizes CBA members who have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to Pro Bono work in Canada or their jurisdiction.