Jack Innes Achievement Award

The Jack Innes Achievement Award was established in August 2007 to honour Jack A. Innes, Q.C. of Nova Scotia, who served as CBA National Treasurer from 2002 to 2007. Jack took a dedicated interest in the well-being of the Association and particularly those who served as staff.

The Award recognizes outstanding contribution to the CBA by a current staff member who has exhibited creativity, innovation, leadership and commitment. These qualities may be exhibited through their CBA work (but not limited to) originality in initiative/program development, demonstrated leadership in talent development, the introduction of an innovative member service or a major operational efficiency in program implementation. 


Any Canadian Bar Association full time staff member including those working at the Branches, National and CCCA.

  • The nominee must be employed full-time for the 12 months prior to the October 15, 2018 award deadline.
  • The CBA CEO shall not be eligible for the Award.
  • No more than one award may be awarded per year.
  • No award need be granted in any one year.

Nomination Procedure

  • Any staff member or CBA member may file a nomination.
  • All nominations are confidential. Nominees are not to be advised.
  • Nominations shall be accompanied by a nominator's letter including the nominee's name, address, telephone number, and position. The letter shall contain a brief description of the staff position, a paragraph outlining the highlights of the nominee’s career path, and an explanation of how the nominee has exhibited outstanding creativity, innovation, leadership or commitment to the CBA.
  • All supporting documentation must be submitted with the nomination by email to: awards@cba.org or by mail: Canadian Bar Association - Awards, 865 Carling Avenue, Suite 500, Ottawa, ON K1S 5S8.
  • The winner shall be advised, but asked to keep the nomination confidential. Winners will be asked to submit a curriculum vitae.

Deadline for Applications: October 15, 2018

Selection Process

Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee. The Committee shall determine the weighting of the criteria annually.


The Jack Innes Achievement Award shall consist of a $1,000 cash prize and an engraved plaque. If required, return airfare and one night accommodation will be provided by the CBA for the recipient to attend the award presentation taking place in Ottawa at the CBA President’s Dinner on February 12, 2019.

Past Winners

  • 2019 - Tamra Thomson
  • 2018 - Steve Pengelly (Toronto, Ontario)
  • 2016 - Cathy Cummings (Toronto, Ontario)
  • 2015 - Heather Walsh (Edmonton, AB)
  • 2014 - Stephanie Elyea (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2013 - Gaylene Schellenberg (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2012 - Caroline Nevin (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2011 - Holly Doerksen (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2010 - Simon Gingras (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2009 - Fran Hodgkins (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2008 - Terry Evenson (Calgary, AB)