Douglas Miller Rising Star Award

The Award recognizes an early career lawyer who is a CBA member in good standing and who exhibits: professional excellence; service to the profession; and outstanding dedication and team spirit in his or her ongoing involvement with the CBA. This award is intended to provide early recognition of developing talent, honouring members who already demonstrate characteristics of leadership to the profession.  The award is named in honor of the late Douglas Miller of Yellowknife, an active CBA member who participated enthusiastically in Association activities, enjoying both the work and the people involved.


  • Nominations may be submitted by individuals.
  • Each candidate requires a minimum of one letter of support, to a maximum of three, from active CBA members.
  • Each nomination must include the candidate's curriculum vitae and a completed application form


  • Candidates must be CBA members in good standing at the time of nomination
  • Candidates must be under forty years of age and/or within their first ten years of call to the bar
  • Governance and Equality Committee and current Board members are not eligible for the Award
  • No more than one award may be awarded per year
  • No award need be granted in any one year.


Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee.


Friday, November 8, 2019

If you have questions please email


The 2020 Award will be presented at the President's Dinner on Wednesday, February 19, 2020 in Ottawa. If required, return airfare and one night’s accommodation will be provided by the CBA for the winner to attend the dinner and award presentation. Recipients are also invited to bring one guest to the dinner. Airfare for the guest would be the recipient’s responsibility.


The award, a framed photograph of the sculpture entitled "Crane" carved from Muskox horn by Northwest Territories artist Rex Goose, is presented to the winner.