The Louis St-Laurent Award of Excellence

The Louis St-Laurent Award recognizes distinguished or exceptional service to the objectives and goals of the CBA.


  • Any CBA member in good standing except current members of the Board of Directors, Finance Committee, or past Executive Officers.
  • Groups are not acknowledged as candidates.
  • There are no posthumous awards.

Nomination Procedure

  • Each candidate requires letters of endorsement from five active CBA members - two of whom must live outside the nominee's province.
  • Each nomination must include the candidate's curriculum vitae, current home and business address, as well as phone, fax and e-mail information. 
  • Each nomination must include a brief submission outlining the candidate's suitability for the Award. 
  • All supporting documentation must be submitted with the nomination by email to: or by mail: Canadian Bar Association - Awards, 865 Carling Avenue, Suite 500, Ottawa, ON K1S 5S8.

Deadline for Applications: October 15, 2018

Selection Process

Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee.


The Award was named in memory of Louis St-Laurent, a former Prime Minister of Canada and President of the CBA. The design of the bronze medallion was inspired by the bronze statue of Mr. St-Laurent which sits in front of the Supreme Court of Canada Building in Ottawa. The 2019 Award will be presented at the President's Dinner on February 12, 2019, in Ottawa.

Award Winners

  • 2015 - Beth Bilson, Q.C. (Saskatoon, SK)
  • 2014 - William (Mick) Ryan, Q.C., (Halifax, NS)
  • 2013 - Malcolm Mercer (Toronto, ON)
  • 2012 - Daniel MacRury, Q.C., (Sydney, NS)
  • 2011 - Melina Buckley (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2010 - Michele H. Hollins, Q.C., (Calgary, AB)
  • 2009 - Scott Jolliffe (Toronto, ON)
  • 2008 - Virginia Engel, Q.C., (Calgary, AB)
  • 2007 - Lorne Waldman (Toronto, ON)
  • 2006 - Quebec Superior Court Chief Justice François Rolland and Sylvie Grégoire (Montréal, QC)
  • 2005 - Sholto Hebenton (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2004 - Guy Joubert (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2003 - Glenda Cole (Calgary, AB)
  • 2002 - Mark G. Peacock (Montréal, QC)
  • 2001 - Michael Greene (Calgary, AB) & Gordon Maynard (Vanouver, BC)
  • 2000 - Jack Innes, Q.C., (Halifax, NS)
  • 1999 - Garth L. Manning, Q.C., (Toronto, ON)
  • 1998 - Mr. W. Merrill Leckie, LL.B., C.Arb., F.P.T.M.I.C., (Vancouver, BC)
  • 1997 - Ms. Eleanore A. Cronk, (Toronto, ON)
  • 1996 - Mr. A.J. Campbell, Q.C., (Montreal, QC)
  • 1995 - Professor Trevor Anderson, (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 1994 - The Honourable Bertha Wilson, (Ottawa, ON)
  • 1993 - Maureen McTeer, (Ottawa, ON)
  • 1992 - Thomas A. Cromwell, (Halifax, NS