Legal Aid Leader Award

The CBA Access to Justice Subcommittee: Legal Aid Leader Award recognizes legal aid lawyers who have made a significant contribution to providing access to justice to people in need. 

The Legal Aid Leader Award aims to

  • promote, reward and recognize outstanding contributions to access to justice through legal aid
  • encourage lawyers to contribute to providing legal aid services
  • raise awareness of the important role lawyers play in delivering legal aid services


The CBA’s Access to Justice Subcommittee will consider Canadian lawyers who have:

  • shown a long-term commitment to providing commendable legal services to those in need
  • represented a client on a significant case with particular relevance to legal aid across jurisdictions
  • offered an outstanding academic contribution pertaining to the study of legal aid
  • served as a role model or inspiration to other legal aid lawyers or law students
  • challenged inadequate legal aid tariffs or delivery of services
  • been instrumental in government relations for improved legal aid
  • developed useful tips or tools for other legal aid lawyers and their clients
  • built links between lawyers and community organizations/advocates to promote better access to justice


Any Canadian lawyer, not including members of the CBA Access to Justice Subcommittee, is eligible to be nominated for this annual award.

Who can Nominate?

Nominators must be CBA members in good standing. Simply fill out the Nomination Form.

Deadline for applications

  • November 10, 2023


Recognized lawyers will have a short biography, photograph and brief description of the reasons for their selection featured on the CBA website.

What is the Award Process?

  • All nominations will be reviewed by the CBA Access to Justice Subcommittee, in consultation with the respective CBA Branch.
  • The recipient will be contacted for approval before a public announcement is made.
  • The recipient will be asked to provide a photograph for the feature.
  • Nominations will be accepted at any time and kept on file for one year. 
  • Award will be announced annually.

Past Award Winners