President & Vice President

The president is the face of the CBA. As its spokesperson and members’ advocate, the president is responsible for key relationships with the branches, the CBA Board of Directors, the CBA Executive Officers, legal groups in Canada and internationally, the public and the media. The vice president supports the president and chairs the Governance and Equality Committee.

Meet the 2022-2023 President and Vice President.

Steeve Bujold's Portrait


President | Québec

Steeves Bujold is a partner at McCarthy TĂ©trault in Montreal, leader of the firm’s Litigation Group for the Quebec region and national president of the Pride Action Group. He maintains a general litigation practice with a focus on professional negligence, pharmaceutical and medical law as well professional law.

Steeves has been a CBA member since 2001. He has been a member of the Health Law and SOGIC Sections of the CBA Quebec Division. He has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2019. He also served as Chair of the Equality Sub-Committee (2019-2020), Chair of the CEO Selection Committee and Chair of the Policy Committee (2020-2021). Steeves is also a member of the Petitions Committee of the Barreau du Québec.

He is a member of the Independent Advisory Board for Supreme Court of Canada Judicial Appointments for Quebec Seats and also a member of the Independent Judicial Advisory Committee for the Province of Quebec – West. He was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal and is Governor of the Fondation du Barreau du QuĂ©bec.

Steeves received his Bachelor of Civil Law from Université Laval in 1998. He was called to the Barreau du Québec in 1999 and admitted to the Ordre des administrateurs agréés du Québec in 2021.



Vice President | Manitoba

John Stefaniuk K.C. is a partner with the Winnipeg-based law firm of Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP. He has more than 30 years' experience in the areas of environmental law, Indigenous law, natural resources and energy law, commercial law, property development, and municipal law. He earned his law degree at the University of Manitoba and was called to the bar in that province in 1988. John’s involvement in the Canadian Bar Association is extensive: he has served as President of CBA-Manitoba and previously sat on the National Board in 2006-07. He is an active volunteer in the CBA International Initiatives/Global Affairs Canada SIRD (Supporting Inclusive Resource Development) project in East Africa. He also served as a member of the CBA’s Truth and Reconciliation Task Force.