Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law

The Ramon John Hnatyshyn award is given to recognize outstanding contribution in law reform, legal scholarship and/or legal research.


  • Nominations may be submitted by individuals.
  • Each candidate requires a minimum of one letter of support, to a maximum of three, from active CBA members.
  • Each nomination must include the candidate's curriculum vitae and a completed application form.
  • All supporting documentation must be submitted by email to: awards@cba.org


  • Candidates must be CBA members in good standing at the time of nomination
  • Candidates must be Canadian citizens.
  • Groups are not acknowledged as candidates.
  • Governance and Equality Committee and current Board members are not eligible for the Award


Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee.


Friday, November 8, 2019

If you have questions please email awards@cba.org.


The 2020 Award will be presented at the President's Dinner on Wednesday, February 19, 2020 in Ottawa. If required, return airfare and one night’s accommodation will be provided by the CBA for the winner to attend the dinner and award presentation.  Recipients are also invited to bring one guest to the dinner.  Airfare for the guest would be the recipient’s responsibility.


The winner is presented with an engraved bronze medallion designed by the Governor General's Office of Heraldry.

Award Winners

  • 2020 - Jennifer Koshan (Calgary, AB)
  • 2018 - W. Thomas Molloy
  • 2016 - Jane Bailey (Ottawa, Ontario)
  • 2015 - Professor Stephen Waddams (Toronto, ON)
  • 2014 - No awards given
  • 2013 - Elizabeth Sheehy (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2012 - Catherine Bell (Edmonton, AB)
  • 2011 - Professor Ronald C.C. Cuming (Saskatoon, SK)
  • 2010 - Roderick A. Macdonald (Montreal, QC)
  • 2009 - The Honourable Roy McMurtry, O.C., O.Ont., Q.C., (Toronto, ON)
  • 2008 - A. Alan Borovoy (Toronto, ON)
  • 2007 - Justice John Gomery (Quebec, QC)
  • 2006 - Professor Constance Backhouse (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2005 - J.P.S. McLaren (Victoria, BC)
  • 2004 - Justice Jean-Louis Baudouin (MontrĂ©al, QC)
  • 2003 - Peter W. Hogg, O.C., Q.C., (Toronto, ON)
  • 2002 - Albert J. McClean Q.C., (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2001 - Judge Jean-Luc Dutil, Q.C., (Quebec, QC)
  • 2000 - The Honorable Lawrence Poitras, Q.C., (MontrĂ©al, QC)
  • 1999 - Ronald St. John Macdonald O.C. (Halifax, NS)
  • 1998 - The Honourable Charles Dubin, O.C., Q.C., LL.D, Toronto, ON
  • 1997 - The Honourable GĂ©rald-A. Beaudoin, Q.C., SĂ©nateur, (Hull, QC)
  • 1996 - The Honourable Noel Herbert Alan Goodridge, (St. John's, NF)
  • 1995 - Dean Emeritus George F. Curtis, Q.C., (Vancouver, BC)
  • 1994 - Professor Martin L. Friedland, O.C., Q.C., (Toronto, ON)
  • 1993 - Professeur Paul-AndrĂ© CrĂ©peau, C.C., Q.C., (MontrĂ©al, QC)