CBA Municipal Law Award of Excellence

The CBA Municipal Law Award of Excellence seeks to recognize exceptional achievement in the practice of municipal law. This annual award will recognize a lawyer who has made a significant contribution or notable achievement in the area of municipal law.


The recipient must have specialized in the practice of municipal law.  Members of the CBA Municipal Law Executive are not eligible to receive the award while serving on the Executive.

Any current member in good standing of the CBA is eligible to nominate a nominee.


The following criteria will be considered in determining the recipient of the award:

  • Excellence and/or significant contributions to the practice of law in municipal law or practice areas directly impacting municipal government. This could include areas of practice including:
    • municipal governance, bylaw drafting, policy drafting, and general advising;
    • significant litigation involving municipal governments or issues affecting municipalities;
    • planning, development, and/or zoning law;
    • municipal taxation, assessment, and/or finance issues; and,
    • administrative law practice focused on municipal government and/or municipal tribunals.
  • Recognition in the legal community as a leader in municipal law. This could include:
    • writing or teaching generally on issues related to municipal law;
    • service to the community, both the legal community and the communities where they live;
    • leadership or involvement in the Canadian Bar Association;
    • mentorship of new practitioners in the area of municipal law; and,
    • participation in the continuing education, including offerings from the Canadian Bar Association.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations must be submitted in a letter stating reasons for the candidate’s nomination, including a description of their exemplary performance and/or service; the time frame involved; and the impact the performance or service had on the nominator and/or the profession.
  • The nominee’s written consent and curriculum vitae must be included with the nomination.
  • The full name, mailing address, telephone number (including cell phone) and email address, as well as number of years in practice, for both the nominee and the nominator must be included with the nomination.
  • The nomination package should include broad and diverse letters of support for the nominee.
  • Completed nominations must be submitted online and include all of the above-noted information.


The recipient of the award will be presented with a plaque recognizing the honour. Additionally, the award winner will be recognized in the CBA Municipal Law blast message to all Section members and on the CBA Municipal Law webpage.

Deadline for Applications: Friday, March 1, 2024


Recent Winners

  • 2023 — Gwendolyn Stewart-Palmer, K.C. (Edmonton, AB)