Sexual and Gender Diversity Alliance Section (SAGDA) – Ally Award

The CBA Sexual and Gender Diversity Alliance Section (SAGDA) awards recognize excellence within the Canadian legal profession in advancing the cause of equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and two-spirit people.


Open to lawyers, professors, law students or judges who are not members of the LGBTQ2+ communities, who have advanced the cause of equality of the LGBTQ2+ communities through either a single important action or series of actions or through a career contribution. In the case of judges, open to those who during their career have demonstrated insight into and sensitivity toward the equality concerns of the LGBTQ2+  communities. 


  • Canadian citizens and/or permanent residents within Canada
  • Current members of the SAGDA executive are not eligible for the awards
  • There are no posthumous awards

Nomination Procedure

  • Nominations shall take the form of a letter stating reasons for the candidate's nomination.
  • The nominee's written consent and curriculum vitae shall be included with the nomination.
  • The full name, address, telephone, fax and email information of both the nominee and the nominator shall be included with the nomination.
  • Completed nominations must be submitted online and include all above noted documents.
  • Nomination packages (name, address, telephone and fax numbers, email information, and curriculum vitae) will be held by the CBA and nominees may be re-considered for Award selection in subsequent years. Any such nominee will be contacted by the Selection Committee and asked to provide a new, up-to-date consent form.

Selection Process

The award is administered by the SAGDA Awards Selection Committee which includes members of the SAGDA Executive. Gender equity and geographical representation will be a consideration in the selection of the members of the Selection Committee and in the selection of the Award recipient.

Award Presentation

The award will be presented virtually at a SAGDA Section event in 2023. 

Deadline for Submission

May 14, 2024


CBA Sections 
Phone: (613) 237-2925 or
Toll Free: (800) 267-8860

Past Winners

  • 2024 – Claire Hunter, K.C. (BC)
  • 2022 - No Award Given
  • 2021 - Audrey Boctor
  • 2020 - Robynne Kazina (MB)
  • 2019 - Justice Harry S. Laforme (ON)
  • 2017 - No Award Given
  • 2016 - Roland Penner (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2015 - Michael Mulligan (Victoria, BC)
  • 2014 - No Award Given
  • 2013 - Emma Halpern
  • 2012 - Jocelyn Frazer (Calgary, AB)
  • 2011 - Max Yalden (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2010 - Patricia Lane (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2009 - The Hon. Roy McMurtry, O.C., O.Ont., K.C. (Toronto, ON)
  • 2008 - The Honorable Claire L'Heureux-Dubé
  • 2007 - Tamara Kronis (Toronto, ON)
  • 2006 - James L. Lebo, K.C. (Calgary, AB)
  • 2005 - Dawna Ring, K.C. (Halifax, NS)
  • 2004 - Honorable Martin Cauchon
  • 2003 - Anne-France Goldwater (Montréal, QC)
  • 2002 - The Honourable Horace Krever (Toronto, ON)
  • 2001 - B. Lynn Reierson (Halifax, NS)
  • 2000 - Joseph J. Arvay, K.C. (Victoria, BC)
  • 1999 - Martha McCarthy (Toronto, ON)