Louis St-Laurent Award of Excellence

The Louis St-Laurent award of Excellence is the highest award conferred to a CBA member in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding service and professional achievement to the benefit of the legal profession, the CBA and society at large. The breadth and scope of achievement are significant factors in receipt of this award, as is the contribution that the individual has made to the goals and objectives of the CBA.

The Award was named in memory of Louis St-Laurent, a former Prime Minister of Canada and former President of the CBA.

If you have trouble in submitting your documentation online, please send your information along with the documents to awards@cba.org.

Apply now


  • Nominations may be submitted by individuals from the following groups: CBA National Section Chairs, CBA Branch Presidents, CBA National Committee and Subcommittee Chairs, and CBA Board of Directors.
  • Each candidate requires a minimum of one letter of support, to a maximum of three, from active CBA members.
  • Each nomination must include the candidate's curriculum vitae and completed application form.


  • Candidates must be CBA members in good standing at the time of nomination
  • Governance and Equality Committee and current Board members are not eligible for the Award
  • Groups are not acknowledged as candidates.


Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee.


The deadline for nominations is February 2025.


The winner is presented with an engraved bronze medallion. The design of medallion was inspired by the bronze statue of The Right Honourable Louis St-Laurent which sits in front of the Supreme Court of Canada Building in Ottawa.

Award Winners

  • 2024 - Melanie Bueckert (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2023 - J. Patrick Peacock, K.C. (Calgary, AB)
  • 2022 - barbara findlay (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2021 - Thomas E. Ullyett (Whitehorse, YT)
  • 2020 - Dean Scaletta (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2019 - No award given
  • 2018 - No award given
  • 2017 - No award given
  • 2016 - No award given
  • 2015 - Beth Bilson, K.C. (Saskatoon, SK)
  • 2014 - William (Mick) Ryan, K.C., (Halifax, NS)
  • 2013 - Malcolm Mercer (Toronto, ON)
  • 2012 - Daniel MacRury, K.C., (Sydney, NS)
  • 2011 - Melina Buckley (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2010 - Michele H. Hollins, K.C., (Calgary, AB)
  • 2009 - Scott Jolliffe (Toronto, ON)
  • 2008 - Virginia Engel, K.C., (Calgary, AB)
  • 2007 - Lorne Waldman (Toronto, ON)
  • 2006 - Quebec Superior Court Chief Justice François Rolland and Sylvie Grégoire (Montréal, QC)
  • 2005 - Sholto Hebenton (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2004 - Guy Joubert (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2003 - Glenda Cole (Calgary, AB)
  • 2002 - Mark G. Peacock (Montréal, QC)
  • 2001 - Michael Greene (Calgary, AB) & Gordon Maynard (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2000 - Jack Innes, K.C., (Halifax, NS)
  • 1999 - Garth L. Manning, K.C., (Toronto, ON)
  • 1998 - Mr. W. Merrill Leckie, LL.B., C.Arb., F.P.T.M.I.C., (Vancouver, BC)
  • 1997 - Ms. Eleanore A. Cronk, (Toronto, ON)
  • 1996 - Mr. A.J. Campbell, K.C., (Montreal, QC)
  • 1995 - Professor Trevor Anderson, (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 1994 - The Honourable Bertha Wilson, (Ottawa, ON)
  • 1993 - Maureen McTeer, (Ottawa, ON)
  • 1992 - Thomas A. Cromwell, (Halifax, NS