Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Community Section– Hero Award

Nomination period now closed

Deadline: May 15, 2020

The Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Community Section (SOGIC) awards recognize excellence within the Canadian legal profession in advancing the cause of equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and two-spirited people.


Open to lawyers, professors, law students or judges who are members of the LGBTQ2SI communities, who have advanced the cause of equality of the LGBTQ2SI communities through either a single important action or series of actions or through a career contribution and/or those, who through excellence in their profession or community, or both, have served as a role model for other members of the LGBTQ2SI communities.


  • Canadian citizens and/or permanent residents within Canada
  • Current members of the SOGIC executive are not eligible for the awards
  • There are no posthumous awards

Nomination Procedure

  • Nominations shall take the form of a letter stating reasons for the candidate's nomination;
  • The nominee's written consent and curriculum vitae shall be included with the nomination;
  • The full name, address, telephone fax and email information of both the nominee and the nominator shall be included with the nomination
  • Completed nominations must be submitted online and include all above noted documents.

Selection Process

The award is administered by the SOGIC Awards Selection Committee which includes members of the SOGIC Executive. Gender equity will be a consideration of the Selection Committee in determining the award winner.

Award Presentation

The time and place of the award presentation will be confirmed after the winner has been selected. It will be held at a relevant event in the winner’s jurisdiction.


CBA Sections 
Phone: (613) 237-2925 
Toll Free: (800) 267-8860

Past Winners

  • 2018-2019 - Florence Ashley (Montreal, QC)
  • 2017 - No award given
  • 2016 - Marie Laure Leclercq (Montreal, QC)
  • 2015 - Nicole LaViolette (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2014 - No award given
  • 2013 - Mile Komlen
  • 2012 - The Honorable Judge J. Gary Cohen (Surrey, BC)
  • 2011 - Susan Ursel (Toronto, ON)
  • 2010 - Michael J. Law (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2009 - Professor Kathleen Lahey (Kingston, ON)
  • 2008 - Joanna Radbord
  • 2007 - El-Farouk Khaki (Toronto, ON)
  • 2006 - Barbara Findlay, Q.C. (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2005 - Douglas Elliott (Toronto, ON)
  • 2004 - Professor Karen Busby (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2003 - John Fisher (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2002 - The Honorable Ruth Krindle (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2001 - Kenneth W. Smith (Vancouver, BC)
  • 2000 - Cynthia Petersen (Toronto, ON)
  • 1999 - Svend Robinson, M.P. (Vancouver, BC)