Statement from the CBA President Steeves Bujold on the appointments to the Law Commission of Canada

  • February 23, 2023

The CBA is pleased that the Government of Canada announced the appointment of Shauna Van Praagh as the President of the revived Law Commission of Canada, as well as Sarah Elgazzar and Aidan Edward Johnson as Commissioners.

The CBA has a long record of recognizing the vital role played by the Law Commission of Canada, as an independent body to advise the government on modernization of the law. We believe that an independent Law Commission can engage in innovative research, adopt a multi-disciplinary approach to law reform, and make valuable contributions to legal policy issues.

We look forward to collaborating with the Law Commission of Canada as it resumes its important work.