Elections: Board of Directors, Vice-President, and CBA committees and Section executive

The polls are closed, the ballots have been counted, and the CBA has its first Board of Directors elected under the new governance model approved at the CBA Legal Conference in August 2016.

Only 11 of the 14 seats were in contention this year, as President René Basque, from New Brunswick and Treasurer Dean Scaletta, from Manitoba, remained on the board to ensure continuity. Current Vice-President Kerry Simmons will be CBA President from 2017-2018, after which the president will be chosen from among Board members.

The new CBA Board members are:

Alberta:  Nabeel Peermohamed

British Columbia: Chandan Kaur Sabharwal

Manitoba: Dean Scaletta

New Brunswick: René Basque

Newfoundland and Labrador: Twila Eileen Reid

Northwest Territories: TBA

Nova Scotia: Raymond Adlington

Nunavut: Stephen Mansell

Ontario: Vivene Salmon

Prince Edward Island: Nancy Birt, QC

Quebec: Marie Laure Leclercq

Saskatchewan: Jeff Howe

Yukon: Thomas Ullyett

Up next: Vice-President elections

Following the completion of the Board election, the Chief Executive Officer will ask each successful candidate (other than the President and the members from Manitoba and New Brunswick) if they wish to stand for Vice-President for 2017-2018.

Want to take a greater role in CBA advocacy?

From May 4 until June 5, you can apply to join a CBA Committee, Subcommittee or Section executive. We’re looking for a diverse group of skilled and engaged members from across Canada who want to make a difference in our Association and the legal profession.

This is your opportunity to work on important CBA initiatives, hone your leadership skills and more.

Learn more