The CBA Immigration Law Section’s primary objectives are to:

  • Maintain a dialogue with government and court entities
  • Engage in advocacy relating to citizenship and immigration legislation and proposed legislative changes
  • Serve as a voice on immigration enforcement and administration abuses
  • Offer continuing legal education seminars
  • Enhance the professionalism of lawyers dealing in the area of immigration law

Our Section liaises regularly with:

  • Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Department of Justice Canada
  • Employment and Social Development Canada
  • Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
  • The Federal Court of Canada and Federal Court of Appeal

Our Committees

  • Anti-Racism Committee
  • Consultative Committee on Practices and Procedures
  • Communications Committee
  • External Relations Committee
  • Litigation Committee
  • Professional Development Committee
  • Submissions Committee
  • Young Lawyer Committee

Our Working Groups

  • Refugees
  • IRB (non-refugee)
  • Economic Permanent Residence
  • Non-Economic Permanent  Residence
  • Employer Compliance
  • Policy
  • Foreign Workers
  • Caregivers
  • Citizenship

2023-2024 Volunteer Coordinators

  • Anti-Racism Committee – Pantea Jafari
  • Anti-Racism Committee – Kamaljit Lehal 
  • CPD Coordinator – Clinton Green
  • CPD Coordinator – Jae-Yeon Lim
  • Conference Planning Committee – Audrey Anne Chouinard
  • Conference Planning Committee – Kiren Saini
  • Litigation Coordinator – Cheryl Robinson
  • Litigation Coordinator – Adrienne Smith
  • Portal Coordinator – Oliver Mao
  • Portal Coordinator – Tamara Mosher-Kuczer
  • Senior Advisor – Kyle C. Hyndman
  • Social Media Coordinator – Daman Saini
  • Submissions Coordinator – Arvin Afzali
  • Submissions Coordinator – Silvia Macedo
  • Young Lawyers Coordinator – Nicole Chan
  • Young Lawyers Coordinator – Genevieve Giesbrecht
  • Pro Bono Coordinator – Jacqueline Bonisteel
  • Pro Bono Coordinator – Daniel Lee
  • Refugee Coordinator – Anna Kuranicheva

As a Section member, you can also send an email to CBAImmigrationLaw@cba.org to provide input to:

Get Involved

There are many ways to get involved:

Stay Informed

Questions? Feel free to contact us!

Not a member of the CBA Immigration Law Section? Join now.