CBA 2013 award winners announced

  • August 16, 2013

SASKATOON – The Canadian Bar Association (CBA) has announced its roster of award winners for 2013.

The CBA awards recognize legal scholarship, service to the Association, pro bono work, promotion of equality, and advancement of the cause of equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered and two-spirited (LGBTT) people. The Stephen Hanson Awards celebrate outstanding journalism that fosters public awareness and understanding of the Canadian justice system and the roles played by institutions and participants in the legal system.

The 2013 CBA Award winners are:

CBA President's Award
Eric Rice (Vancouver)

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law
Elizabeth Sheehy (Ottawa)

Jack Innes Achievement Award
Gaylene Schellenberg (Ottawa)

Cecilia I. Johnstone Award
The Honourable Louise Mailhot (Montreal)

Stephen Hanson Awards
Print: Paul Webster — Vancouver Magazine
Broadcast: Joe Schlesinger and Bonnie Brown — The National (CBC)

Walter Owen Book Prize
Teresa Scassa (Ottawa) and Michael Deturbide (Halifax)

Edward K. Rowan-Legg Award
Katherine E. Fraser (Edmonton)

SOGIC Ally Award
Emma Halpern (Dartmouth)

SOGIC Hero Award
Milé Komlen (Hamilton)

Louis St-Laurent Award for Law
Malcolm Mercer (Toronto)

John Tait Award of Excellence
Douglas Moen, Q.C. (Regina)

Touchstone Award
Chief Justice Catherine Fraser (Calgary)

Young Lawyers Pro Bono Award
Stephanie Yang (Regina)

Viscount Bennett Fellowship
Benjamin Perryman (Dartmouth)

The awards are being given out at the 2013 CBA Legal Conference in Saskatoon from August 16-20. The event is open to accredited journalists who have registered with the CBA Media Centre. Please contact Hannah Bernstein for accreditation.

The Canadian Bar Association is dedicated to support for the rule of law, and improvement in the law and the administration of justice. Some 37,000 lawyers, notaries, law teachers, and law students from across Canada are members.

- 30 -