Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Community Section – Ally Award

The CBA Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Community Section (SOGIC) awards recognize excellence within the Canadian legal profession in advancing the cause of equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and two-spirited people.


Open to lawyers, professors, law students or retired judges who are not members of the LGBTQ2SI communities, who have advanced the cause of equality of the LGBTQ2SI communities through either a single important action or series of actions or through a career contribution. In the case of retired judges, open to those who during their career have demonstrated insight into and sensitivity toward the equality concerns of the LGBTQ2SI  communities. 


  • Canadian citizens and/or permanent residents within Canada
  • Current members of the SOGIC executive are not eligible for the awards
  • There are no posthumous awards


The Award is presented at the CBA President’s Dinner in Ottawa.

Nomination Procedure

  • Nominations shall take the form of a letter stating reasons for the candidate's nomination.
  • The nominee's written consent and curriculum vitae shall be included with the nomination.
  • The full name, address, telephone, fax and email information of both the nominee and the nominator shall be included with the nomination.
  • Completed nominations must be submitted online and include all above noted documents.

Selection Process

The award is administered by the SOGIC Awards Selection Committee which includes members of the SOGIC Executive. Gender equity will be a consideration of the Selection Committee in determining the award winner.

Past Winners

  • 2018-2019 Justice Harry S. Laforme (ON)
  • 2017 - No Award Given
  • 2016 - Roland Penner (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2015 - Michael Mulligan (Victoria, BC)
  • 2014 - No Award Given
  • 2013 - Emma Halpern
  • 2012 - Jocelyn Frazer (Calgary, AB)
  • 2011 - Max Yalden (Ottawa, ON)
  • 2010 - Patricia Lane (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2009 - The Hon. Roy McMurtry, O.C., O.Ont., Q.C. (Toronto, ON)
  • 2008 - The Honorable Claire L'Heureux-DubĂ©
  • 2007 - Tamara Kronis (Toronto, ON)
  • 2006 - James L. Lebo, Q.C. (Calgary, AB)
  • 2005 - Dawna Ring, Q.C. (Halifax, NS)
  • 2004 - Honorable Martin Cauchon
  • 2003 - Anne-France Goldwater (MontrĂ©al, QC)
  • 2002 - The Honourable Horace Krever (Toronto, ON)
  • 2001 - B. Lynn Reierson (Halifax, NS)
  • 2000 - Joseph J. Arvay, Q.C. (Victoria, BC)
  • 1999 - Martha McCarthy (Toronto, ON)