Awards & Recognition


Each year, we proudly honour excellence in the legal profession

Our annual National Awards celebrate individual excellence, outstanding achievements and superior contributions to the association and the legal profession. We also recognize industry excellence through other awards, fellowships and recognition programs.

If you know someone who has made a difference, we welcome your nominations.

Categories include:

Douglas Miller Rising Star Award

The Award recognizes an early career lawyer who is a CBA member in good standing and who exhibits: professional excellence; service to the profession; and outstanding dedication and team spirit in his or her ongoing involvement with the CBA.

Jack Innes Award

The Jack Innes award recognizes outstanding contribution to the CBA by a current staff member who has exhibited creativity, innovation, leadership and commitment. These qualities may be exhibited through their work (but not limited to) originality...

John Tait Award of Excellence

Recognizes a public sector lawyer or law office that has achieved the highest standards of professional conduct and competence and made significant contributions to social justice or community affairs.

Legal Aid Leader Award

The Legal Aid Leader Award recognizes legal aid lawyers who have made a significant contribution to providing access to justice to people in need. 

Municipal Law Section Student Essay Contest

The CBA Municipal Law Section has established its inaugural essay contest related to general topics in municipal law. The objectives of the contest are to promote and reward interest in municipal law topics in Canadian law schools and to encourage...

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law

The Ramon John Hnatyshyn award is given to recognize outstanding contribution in law reform, legal scholarship and/or legal research.