CBA National Section Award of Excellence

The CBA National Section Award of Excellence is presented annually to a National Section. The award recognizes the outstanding contribution of a National Section in providing service to members and furthering the objectives of the Association.


CBA National Sections (and not individuals) are eligible for the award. A Section that has won the award in the last five years is not eligible. Any CBA member may nominate a Section.

All activities in which a National Section engages that promote Sections, provide service to CBA members, or further the objectives of the Association can be considered in determining the recipient of the award.

Criteria that may be considered include:

  • Demonstrated innovation
  • Increased Section membership
  • Exceptional value provided to Section members
  • Excellence in contributing to CBA advocacy work
  • Excellence in providing professional development programming
  • Increased Section activity
  • Increased participation by Section members in Section committee work or other activities
  • Excellence in communication


The deadline for nominations is May 31 annually.

  • Nominations cannot exceed 10 pages (8 ½ x 11) and must be submitted in writing to Gathoni Njuguna, by email:, or mail: Canadian Bar Association, 66 Slater St., Suite 1200, Ottawa ON K1P 5H1.

The NSC Executive may determine that the award will not be presented, or that there are two winning Sections in a particular year.

Application form

Award Winners

  • 2018 - Women Lawyers Forum
  • 2017 - Privacy & Access Law
  • 2016 - jointly presented to the Construction and Infrastructure Law and Intellectual Property Sections
  • 2015 - Wills, Estates and Trusts
  • 2014 - Pensions & Benefits Law
  • 2013 - Immigration Law
  • 2012 - Criminal Justice
  • 2011 - Taxation Law
  • 2010 - Competition Law