The Douglas Miller Award

The Douglas Miller Award was established by the CBA in memory of the late Douglas Miller of Yellowknife, an active CBA member who participated enthusiastically in Association activities, enjoying both the work and the people involved.

The Award recognizes a Canadian Bar Association member who demonstrates outstanding dedication and team spirit in his or her ongoing involvement with the CBA.


  • Any Canadian Bar Association Member in good standing.
  • CBA Past Presidents and members of the selection committee are not eligible for the Award.
  • No more than one award may be awarded per year.
  • No award need be granted in any one year.
  • There are no posthumous awards.

Nomination Procedure

  • Branch Presidents or Board of Directors may make nominations.
  • Nominations shall be accompanied by a nominator's letter including the nominee's name, address, telephone number and a brief submission as to why the individual should receive the Award.
  • A curriculum vitae of the nominee shall be included.
  • All supporting documentation must be submitted with the nomination by email to: or by mail: Canadian Bar Association - Awards, 865 Carling Avenue, Suite 500, Ottawa, ON K1S 5S8.

Deadline for Applications: December 10, 2018

Selection Process

Applications are reviewed by the CBA Award Selection Panel and recommendation made to the Governance and Equality Committee.


Each year the award, a framed photograph of the sculpture entitled "Crane" carved from Muskox horn by Northwest Territories artist Rex Goose, is presented to the winner. The 2019 Award will be presented at the President's Dinner on February 12, 2019, in Ottawa.

Award Winners

  • 2019 - Michèle Moreau
  • 2016 - Mark Berlin (Montreal, Que.)
  • 2015 - Geoffrey D. Creighton (Oakville, ON)
  • 2014 - Josh Weinstein (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 2013 - Elaine Keenan Bengts (Yellowknife, NWT)
  • 2012 - Lucille R. Birkett, Q.C. 
  • 2011 - Jack Innes (Halifax, NS)
  • 2010 - Rene Basque (Moncton, NB)
  • 2009 - Glenda Cole (Calgary, AB)
  • 2008 - Susan T. McGrath (Iroquois Falls, ON)
  • 2007 - George Hendy, Q.C., (Montreal, Que.)
  • 2006 - Anne M. Wallace,Q.C., (Saskatoon, SK)
  • 2005 - Bruce Noble, Q.C., (Fredericton, NB)
  • 2004 - No recipient
  • 2003 - Greg A. Harding, Q.C., (Edmonton, AB)
  • 2002 - Nancy Orr, (Charlottetown, P.E.I)
  • 2001 - Pierre-C. Gagnon, (Quebec, Que.)
  • 2000 - Garth Smorang, Q.C. (Winnipeg, MB)
  • 1999 - Robert P. Stack, (St. John's, NF)
  • 1998 - Sandra L. Schulz, Q.C., (Edmonton, AB)
  • 1997 - Simon V. Potter, (Montreal, Que.)
  • 1996 - The Honorable Mr. Justice Emile R. Kruzick, (Toronto, ON)