Ray Adlington begins tenure as CBA President

  • September 04, 2018

Ottawa – September 4, 2018 – Ray Adlington of Halifax, N.S., started his year-long tenure as President of the Canadian Bar Association on September 1st.  Adlington takes over from outgoing president Kerry L. Simmons, Q.C., of Victoria, BC. The Board of Directors also welcomed six newly elected members: Christopher Buchanan (NWT), Jason Cooke (NS), Kevin J. Haché (NB), Vincent Larochelle (YK), Thomas Laughlin (PEI), and Bradley Regehr (MB).  They join six other board members who will be completing the second year of their two-year term.

In response to a membership survey, the board has identified two advocacy priorities for the coming year: Access to Justice and Solicitor-Client Privilege. Adlington is also committed to his personal priority of advancing inclusivity in the profession.

 “Diversity is a noble goal, but there’s no true diversity without inclusivity,” says Ray Adlington. “My daughters plan to become lawyers, and I want them to join a profession that will not only accept them, but will welcome them as unique individuals.”

Adlington is a prominent tax lawyer and a former managing partner and CEO of McInnes Cooper based in their Halifax office. He has been an active member of the Nova Scotia Branch since 1997 and is a member of the CBA Taxation Law Section, which he chaired from 2004-2006. He also served as a member of the CICA/CBA Joint Committee on Taxation from 2005-2009.


  • Ray Adlington received his LL.B from Dalhousie University, and was called to the Nova Scotia Bar in 1997.
  • He has been a member of the CBA since 1997.
  • Adlington was appointed Chair of the Atlantic Provinces Economic Council in September 2017.
  • He has been recognized by Best Lawyers™ in Canada  for his practice in Tax and Trusts and Estates since 2011, and received the Best Lawyers 2018 Trusts and Estates “Lawyer of the Year” award in Halifax.


Meet the new president video
CBA Board of Directors webpage
Ray Adlington McInnes Cooper Bio


The CBA is dedicated to support for the rule of law, and improvement in the law and the administration of justice. Some 36,000 lawyers, notaries, law teachers and law students across Canada are members.