The Canadian Bar Association Announces 2016 Award Winners

  • February 19, 2016

OTTAWA - The Canadian Bar Association (CBA) announced its roster of award winners for 2016.

The awards recognize CBA members who advance the cause of equality of the LGBTT communities; demonstrate strong participation and exceptional service to the objectives and goals of the CBA; are young lawyers involved in pro bono legal services; for outstanding contribution to the law or legal scholarship in Canada; for outstanding contribution by a student member; demonstrate outstanding dedication to the CBA and team spirit; and whose career exemplifies preeminent public service.

The CBA award winners are:

Louis St. Laurent Award
Beth Bilson, Professor, University of Saskatchewan, College of Law, Saskatoon

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award
Jane Bailey, Professor, University of Ottawa, Common Law Faculty, Ottawa

Touchstone Award
Lisa Addario, Senior Legal Counsel, Public Service Alliance of Canada, Ottawa

John Tait Award
Mark Aitken, Department of Justice of the Government of the Northwest Territories, Yellowknife

Young Lawyers Pro Bono Award
Kyle Rees, Associate, O’Dea Earle Law Offices in St. John’s

SOGIC Ally Award
Roland Penner, OC, OM, Q.C., Professor at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg

SOGIC Hero Award
Marie Laure Leclercq, Counsel, De Grandpré Chait in Montreal

2015 Walter Owen Book Prize
Adam Dodek, Associate Professor, University of Ottawa, Common Law Faculty

The awards will be presented at the CBA’s Mid-Winter Meeting of Council on February 20, 2016 in Ottawa.

The CBA is dedicated to support for the rule of law, and improvement in the law and the administration of justice. Some 36,000 lawyers, notaries in Quebec, law teachers, and law students from across Canada are members.