The CBA Announces 2015 Award Winners

  • February 20, 2015

Ottawa – The Canadian Bar Association (CBA) announced its roster of award winners for 2015.

The awards recognize CBA members who advance the cause of equality of the LGBT communities; demonstrate strong participation and exceptional service to the objectives and goals of the CBA; are young lawyers involved in pro bono legal services; for outstanding contribution to the law or legal scholarship in Canada; for outstanding contribution by a student member; demonstrate outstanding dedication to the CBA and team spirit; and whose career exemplifies preeminent public service.

The 2015 CBA award winners

Douglas Miller Award

Geoffrey D. Creighton, recently-retired Senior Vice-President, General Counsel and Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer at IGM Financial Inc.

Louis St-Laurent Award

William (Mick) Ryan, Q.C., Partner, Stewart McKelvey LLP in Halifax

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award

Professor Stephen Waddams, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto

2014 Rowan-Legg Award

Olivier D. Girardeau, student, Faculty of Law, Université de Montréal

Touchstone Award

Professor Martha Jackman, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa

John Tait Award

Christian Whalen, Deputy Advocate and Senior Legal Counsel with the New Brunswick Office of the Child and Youth Advocate

Young Lawyers Pro Bono Award

Deborah Templer, Partner, Gowlings, Toronto

SOGIC Ally Award

Michael Mulligan, Mulligan Tam Pearson in Victoria

SOGIC Hero Award

Professor Nicole LaViolette, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa

The awards will be presented at the CBA’s Mid-Winter Meeting of Council on February 21, 2015 in Ottawa.

The meeting is open to accredited media. Please contact Hannah Bernstein at for accreditation.

The CBA is dedicated to support for the rule of law, and improvement in the law and the administration of justice. Some 36,000 lawyers, notaries in Quebec, law teachers, and law students from across Canada are members.