2013 CCCA Award winners announced

  • April 10, 2013

TORONTO – The Canadian Bar Association’s (CBA) Canadian Corporate Counsel Association (CCCA) has announced the winners of the 2013 CCCA Awards.

In addition to awarding the annual R.V.A. Jones Award (named in honour of the CCCA’s founding Executive Director), this year, to commemorate CCCA’s 25th Anniversary, the association has introduced four new awards, outlined below along with their respective recipients.

The winner of the R.V.A. Jones Award is Brian Armstrong, Q.C., formerly of Bruce Power in Tiverton, ON. Recently retired, Mr. Armstrong’s career spanned over 40 years in the practice of law, both externally and in-house. He has made an unparalleled contribution to the in-house counsel bar and community through his 12 years at Bruce Power and his prolific involvement with the CCCA.

The Community Builder Award, recognizing pro bono, community or corporate social responsibility efforts, has been awarded to Investors Group for their volunteer work at the Legal Help Centre in Winnipeg, MB. The Legal Help Centre’s Director of Legal Services, Hope Buset, summarizes the group’s commitment in two words: “Nobody’s better.” The members who regularly volunteered their time are: Cory Shangreaux, David Cheop, Q.C., Donald MacDonald, Jack Courtney, Michael Soronow, Nick Slonosky, Richard Irish, and Sonya Reiss.

Heather Innes of Oshawa, ON, is the winner of the Professional Contribution Award. The Global Process Leader, International Trade Law & Counsel and Chief Privacy Officer at GM Canada, has been an active member of the CBA and the CCCA for over 20 years. She has helped to raise the profile of the CCCA in the professional community by participating in the CCCA Mentoring Program, speaking at various conferences, and sitting on the CBA International Law Section Executive Committee. Currently, she sits on the CCCA National and GTA Section Executive Committees, and also serves as Chair of the CCCA Mentoring Advisory Committee.

The inaugural Special Contribution Award goes to Robert V.A. Jones, Q.C. and Derek C. Hayes, both of Toronto, ON. Established to recognize those who have made an extraordinary, one-time contribution to further the objectives of the CCCA, the association is excited to present the Special Contribution Award to these two individuals so instrumental to the founding of the CCCA.

Tyler Langdon of McCain Foods Limited in Florenceville, NB, is the winner of the Up and Comer Award. Bringing his belief in transformational leadership to the activities he pursues in both his personal and professional life, he represents both the best traditions of the in-house profession and the forward-looking mentality needed to succeed in the changing global landscape.

All five CCCA Awards will be presented to the recipients during the CCCA’s 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony on the evening of Sunday, April 14 in Toronto. The event kicks off the 2013 CCCA National Spring Conference, celebrating 25 years of in-house excellence.

Media accreditation for this event and the conference may be obtained by contacting Hannah Bernstein.

An integral group within the 37,000-member Canadian Bar Association, the Canadian Corporate Counsel Association is dedicated to supporting and enhancing the interests of Canadian corporate counsel. CCCA provides uniquely Canadian perspectives, resources, tools, professional development, conferences and peer-to-peer networking opportunities.

- 30 -