Notice of deadlines for AGM awards

  • October 06, 2020

Each year the CBA hands out a variety of awards to celebrate professional excellence, outstanding contribution, innovation and equality in the legal profession.

The awards are as follows:

Douglas Miller Rising Star Award - This award is intended to provide early recognition of developing talent, honouring members who already demonstrate characteristics of leadership to the profession.

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law – This award is given to recognize outstanding contribution in law reform, legal scholarship and/or legal research.

The Louis St-Laurent Award of Excellence – This award is the highest award conferred to a CBA member in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding service and professional achievement to the benefit of the legal profession, the CBA and society at large.

Touchstone Award – This award recognizes the promotion of equality in the legal profession, the judiciary or the legal community in Canada.

Jack Innes Award - This award recognizes outstanding contribution to the CBA by a current staff member who has exhibited creativity, innovation, leadership and commitment.

Click on the link to find out more about eligibility for each of the awards. The deadline for nominations to the Douglas Miller, Ramon John Hnatyshyn, Louis St-Laurent and Jack Innes awards is Nov. 12, while the deadline for nominations for the Touchstones Award is Dec. 1.

The awards will be presented virtually during the CBA’s online annual general meeting on Feb. 17, 2021.