Nomination deadline approaches for 2020 CBA awards

  • October 02, 2019

CBA members have until November 8, 2019 to submit nominations for five 2020 awards. Each year, this suite of awards honour the most talented and dedicated members of the legal profession in Canada. Awards will be presented at the President’s Dinner on February 19, 2020 in Ottawa. The President’s Award, which is a selection of the CBA President, will also be given out that evening.

The five awards open to nominations include:

Louis St-Laurent award of Excellence

The Louis St-Laurent award of Excellence—named after the former President of the CBA and Prime Minister of Canada—is the highest award conferred to a CBA member. It is presented in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding service and professional achievement to the benefit of the legal profession, the CBA and society at large. The winner is presented with an engraved bronze medallion, inspired by the bronze statue of Prime Minister St-Laurent located in front of the Supreme Court of Canada Building in Ottawa.

Nominations may be submitted by individuals from the following groups: CBA National Section Chairs, CBA Branch Presidents, CBA National Committee and Subcommittee Chairs, and CBA Board of Directors.

Douglas Miller Rising Star Award

The Douglas Miller Rising Star Award provides early recognition of developing talent, honouring members who already demonstrate characteristics of leadership to the profession. 

Previously known as the Douglas Miller Award, the award name has been revised and the criteria has been reoriented to recognize an individual in the early stages of his or her career. Nominees must be under 40 years of age and/or within their first ten years of call to the bar.

The CBA changed the focus of the award following a review of its awards programs and in consultation with the family of the late Douglas Miller, an active CBA member from Yellowknife who participated enthusiastically in association activities, enjoying both the work and the people involved.

The recipient receives a framed photograph of the sculpture entitled "Crane" carved from Muskox horn by Northwest Territories artist Rex Goose.

Touchstone Award

The Touchstone Award celebrates the accomplishments of an individual or an organization that has excelled in promoting equality in the legal profession, the judiciary, or the legal community. Recipients has made a significant contribution relating to race, gender, disability, sexual orientation or other diversity issues in the community.  The Award is a soapstone sculpture which resides at the National Office in Ottawa, with a framed replica presented to the recipient.

Ramon John Hnatyshyn award

The Ramon John Hnatyshyn award is given to recognize outstanding contribution in law reform, legal scholarship and/or legal research. Nominations may be submitted by individuals.

The winner is presented with an engraved bronze medallion designed by the Governor General's Office of Heraldry.

Jack Innes Achievement Award

The Jack Innes award recognizes outstanding contribution to the CBA by a current staff member (at national office, branches and Canadian Corporate Counsel Association) who has exhibited creativity, innovation, leadership and commitment. The award was established in 2007 to honour Jack A. Innes, Q.C. of Nova Scotia, who served as CBA National Treasurer from 2002 to 2007. The Award consists of a $1,000 cash prize and an engraved plaque.

Nomination procedures

  • Each candidate requires between one and three letters of support from active CBA members
  • Candidates must be CBA members in good standing at the time of nomination.
  • All supporting documentation must be submitted by email to:
  • Deadline: Friday, November 8, 2019