Spotlight on new 2019-20 Board members

  • August 16, 2019

Seven new members will take their seats on the CBA Board of Directors on Sept. 1, 2019. They will join President Vivene Salmon of Ontario and Vice-President Brad Regehr of Manitoba, along with six board members who are entering the second year of their two-year terms.

The new CBA Board reflects the diversity of the country and of the legal community, and the directors bring a wealth of leadership experience to the table. The new 2019-20 Board members come from the public sector and private practice; include in-house general counsels and law firm partners; and represent firms both large and small.


Chandra Flett

Chandra Flett is a founding Partner of Flett Manning Moore in Fort McMurray. Her practice areas include family law, mediation, collaborative practice, adoption, wills and estates, and estate planning. Hailing from the Alberta farming community of Hines Creek, Flett has a Bachelor of Arts from Augustana University College in Camrose and earned her LL.B from University of Alberta in 2005. Flett is president of the Fort McMurray Bar Association, and, for many years (2008-2017) coordinated the annual Fort McMurray Law Day activities in partnership with the CBA. 

Newfoundland & Labrador

Susan Gover

Susan Gover is General Counsel and Corporate Secretary for the Canada-Newfoundland & Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board. She provides advice on operational and legal matters as they relate oil and gas and environmental law. Gover earned a degree in commerce before studying law, and she was called to the Bar in 1993. Gover was President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Branch of the CBA in 2011-12. She is actively involved in the Women Lawyers Forum and the National Environmental, Energy and Resource Law Section.


Marc Noreau

Marc Noreau is the Executive Legal Officer for the Government of Nunavut’s Court of Justice, a position he assumed in February 2019.  Noreau earned his Bachelor on Civil Law from UniversitĂ© Laval in 1988 and his LL.B degree from York University–Osgoode Hall Law School in 1993. Noreau began his career as a civil and commercial litigator in Quebec City with Lavery deBilly, LLP. In 2015, he also obtained the Osgoode Certificate in Public Procurement Law and Practice. He is a member of the Barreau du QuĂ©bec and the Law Society of Nunavut, and a former member of the CBA’s Access to Justice Committee.


Stephen Rotstein

Stephen Rotstein is Vice-President, Policy & Regulatory Affairs and General Counsel at FP Canada (formerly the Financial Planning Standards Council). In this role, he works across a range of sectors and oversees the organization’s government, regulatory and public policy matters. Rotstein obtained a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Western Ontario in 1993 and a Bachelor of Law from York University–Osgoode Hall Law School in 1996. A member of the CBA since 2015, he is a past member of the Board of Directors (2016-2017) and is a member of the Audit Committee.


Steeves Bujold

Steeves Bujold is a Partner at McCarthy TĂ©trault in MontrĂ©al. He is a litigator whose practice focuses on health law, pharmaceutical and medical liability and professional law. After earning his LL.B at UniversitĂ© Laval, he was called to the bar in Quebec in 1999. A CBA member since 2001, he is currently a member of the Executive Committee of SOGIC (Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Community) of CBA-Quebec, and has been an executive member of the Health Law Section of CBA-Quebec. In 2019, he was the CBA’s representative on the Independent Advisory Board for Supreme Court of Canada judicial appointments, which chose the shortlist of nominees to fill the seat vacated by Justice ClĂ©ment Gascon.


Bonnie Reddekopp

Bonnie Reddekopp joined CJC & Co. LLP in Saskatoon in 2015, where her practice includes family law, wills and estates, small claims, debt-judgment enforcement, real estate law and civil litigation. Born and raised in rural Saskatchewan, Reddekopp studied at the University of Saskatchewan, where she earned both her B.A. and, in 2011, her J.D.  She has been a member of the CBA’s Saskatchewan Branch Family Law North Section since 2013 and has sat on numerous boards and committees. She is passionate about community engagement and is a member of Saskatoon Women Building Better Business.

British Columbia

Bill Veenstra, Q.C.

Bill Veenstra is Associate Counsel with Jenkins Marzban Logan LLP in Vancouver, British Columbia. Bill practices in the areas of commercial and construction litigation. Bill obtained his Bachelor of Arts (Science) (BA.Sc.) degree from the University of British Columbia in 1986 and his Bachelor of Laws (LL.B) degree from the University of Victoria in 1990 after which, he spent a year as a law clerk with the British Columbia Court of Appeal. Bill was called to the Bar in 1992 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel by BC’s Attorney General in 2018. Bill has been active in the CBA for numerous years.  He was President of the CBA’s BC Branch (2017-2018) and is the recipient of the CBABC President’s Medal (2015) and the CBABC Presidential Citation (2009).  He was a member of the CBA’s Funding Formula Task Force (2017-2018), its Governance Transition Task Force (2016-2017) and its Intervention Policy Review Committee (2014-2015). From 2013-2014, Bill chaired the CBA’s National Civil Litigation Section.

The Board members in the second year of their terms are:

  • Brad Regehr, Manitoba, Vice-President
  • Christopher Buchanan, Northwest Territories
  • Jason Cooke, Nova Scotia
  • Thomas Laughlin, P.E.I.
  • Kevin HachĂ©, New Brunswick
  • Vincent Larochelle, Yukon