Welcome to the new Board members

  • May 11, 2018

The CBA’s Governance and Equality Committee is pleased to announce that it once again has a stellar slate of candidates to fill the seats that will be emptied at the end of this fiscal year in September.

Because of the staggered Board terms, the only seats in contention for this election were Manitoba, New Brunswick, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Yukon.

The new members are: Brad Regehr, a partner with Maurice Law in Manitoba; Christopher Buchanan, Legal Counsel with the Government of the Northwest Territories; Jason Cooke, a partner with Burchells in Nova Scotia; Thomas Laughlin, a partner with Stewart McKelvey in P.E.I.; Kevin Haché of Kevin J. Haché C.P. Inc. in New Brunswick; and Kelly Labine, a lawyer with the Community Law Clinic in Yukon.

They will be joining board members Nabeel Peermohamed from Alberta, Chandan Kaur Sabharwal of British Columbia, Twila Reid of Newfoundland & Labrador, Stephen Mansell of Nunavut, Marie-Laure Leclercq of Quebec and Jeffrey M. Howe of Saskatchewan, as well as the incoming Vice-President, Vivene Salmon, from Ontario, who will all complete the second year of their two-year board terms in 2018-2019.

Learn more

All six of the new members, who will start their terms on Sept. 1, 2018, were acclaimed.

“The Governance and Equality Committee is authorized to do further recruitment if it concludes that the candidates who put their names forward don’t fit the requirements – specifically reflecting the diversity of the legal profession – as set out in the CBA bylaws,” says Vice-President Ray Adlington. “But the Committee was very pleased with the candidates and did not feel that would be necessary. This is a good group and I’m looking forward to working with them to implement our strategic plan.”