President & Executive

The president is the face of the CBA. As its spokesperson and members’ advocate, the president is responsible for key relationships with the branches, CBA Council, the CBA Board of Directors, the CBA Executive Officers, legal groups in Canada and internationally, the public and the media.

We are proud to present the biographies of the 2016-2017 President and the CBA Executive Officers.

René Basque, <abbr lang="en" title="Queen's Counsel">Q.C.</abbr>

René Basque, Q.C.


RenĂ© Basque is a partner of Actus Law Droit in Moncton where his practice focuses on regulatory work, corporate litigation, outside corporate counsel and employment law. A fluently bilingual native of Tracadie-Sheila, he holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree (1980) and a Bachelor of Law degree (1988), both from the UniversitĂ© de Moncton. RenĂ© was admitted to the bar in 1989. In addition to his practice, he worked as Public Intervener on behalf of the Attorney General of New Brunswick on a number of issues in front of the New Brunswick Energy and Utilities Board, including Enbridge Gas New Brunswick’s rate setting hearing, Irving Oil’s wholesale margin hearing and the Point Lepreau refurbishment hearing.

RenĂ© Basque has been a member of the CBA since 1989. He was president of CBA-New Brunswick in 2006-2007. He is a past board member of the New Brunswick Law Society and the Canadian Bar Association’s excellence awards committee. RenĂ© has lectured on commercial and corporate law for the provincial bar admission course, provides business seminars for new entrepreneurs, as well as governance seminars for charitable and for-profit boards of directors.

René lives in Riverview, N.B. and is married with two daughters.

Kerry L. Simmons, <abbr lang="en" title="Queen's Counsel">Q.C.</abbr

Kerry L. Simmons, Q.C.

First Vice-President

Kerry L. Simmons, Q.C., practices at Cook Roberts LLP in Victoria, B.C. where her practice focuses on estate litigation, employment law and commercial litigation. In 2012-13 she served as president of the B.C. Branch of the CBA where she was an outspoken advocate for access to justice and access to legal services in rural and small communities throughout the province. As Chair of the Governance Transition Task Force, Kerry is helping the CBA make the changes in its governance structure to a one which supports our Strategic Direction to serve members in ways that work for them.

Michèle Moreau

Michèle Moreau

Second Vice-President

Member of the Quebec Bar since 1990, Michèle Moreau is the Executive Director of the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice. She was the founding Director of Pro Bono QuĂ©bec and the Centre de justice de proximitĂ© du Grand MontrĂ©al. After graduating from University of Montreal’s Faculty of Law, she worked in private practice before becoming Deputy Director of Labour Relations Services at the University of QuĂ©bec in MontrĂ©al (UQAM) for more than 10 years, which led her to teach labour law at the Bar School.

From the beginning of her practice, Michèle Moreau has been actively involved with various organizations within the legal community: the Young Bar of Montreal, the Bar of Montreal, the Quebec Bar and the Mile-End Legal Clinic. In May 2011, she was awarded the “MĂ©rite” for her exceptional contribution to the Bar of Montreal. She currently is President of the Association of Law Graduates at the University of Montreal, and Past-President of the Quebec Branch of the Canadian Bar Association.

Dean Scaletta

Dean Scaletta


Dean Scaletta obtained his Bachelor of Commerce and his law degree from the University of Manitoba. He was called to the Manitoba Bar in 1982. He was in private practice until mid-1988 before joining the legal department of Manitoba Public Insurance. Dean is currently Director of Access, Privacy, and Litigation at Manitoba Public Insurance. He was an elected member of the Manitoba Bar Association Council from 2001 to 2015, the last six years as Secretary-Treasurer. Dean has also been actively involved in the CCCA serving as the Manitoba Chair (1999-2005), on the Board of Directors (2004-2008), on the Interim Executive (2011), and as Treasurer (2011-2015). He was first elected as a Bencher of the Law Society of Manitoba in 2010 and has served on numerous Law Society committees.

Janet M. Fuhrer

Janet M. Fuhrer


Janet Fuhrer is a partner with the firm of Ridout & Maybee LLP in its Ottawa office. Having begun her career as an intellectual property lawyer when called to the Bar of Ontario in 1987, Ms. Fuhrer is a certified specialist by the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC) in intellectual property law (trade-marks and copyright). She also was a member of and chaired the LSUC’s previous Intellectual Property Law Specialist Certification Committee.

Ms. Fuhrer is a past chair of the CBA Professional Development Committee and a past chair of the National Sections Council (NSC), as well as the National Intellectual Property Law Section. During her two-year term as chair of NSC, Janet Fuhrer served on the CBA Board of Directors, Finance Committee and National Council. Ms. Fuhrer is a past chair of the Strategic Planning Committee of the Ontario Bar Association (OBA); she has served on the OBA Membership Committee and she has participated in the OBA Mentorship Program as a mentor. In her area of practice, Ms. Fuhrer is a past president (2010-2011) of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada and has held leadership positions with the American Intellectual Property Law Association. Janet is a frequent speaker and moderator at various IP conferences and meetings. In her spare time, she is an avid runner.

Cheryl Farrow, <abbr title="Certified Association Executive">CAE</abbr>

Cheryl Farrow, CAE

Chief Executive Officer

Cheryl Farrow is an experienced professional association executive with more than 15 years of senior management experience. A highly organized and experienced executive in the not-for-profit sector, Ms Farrow has worked with boards through periods of change and evolution. She has exhibited a talent for unlocking the potential of teams, and is skilled at bringing out the best in people by fostering a respectful, results-focused work environment.

Ms Farrow has served as President and CEO of Supply Chain Management Association for the past six years, and since 2012, she also served as President and in other executive capacities for the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management, where she became the first woman president. Previously as the Executive Director of the Canadian Grocery HR Council, she successfully secured federal government contracts totalling over $4 million for renewed infrastructure and project funding.

Ms Farrow is bilingual, is a Certified Association Executive (CAE) and has a Masters in Business Administration (MBA).