Awards & Recognition


Each year, we proudly honour excellence in the legal profession

Our annual National Awards celebrate individual excellence, outstanding achievements and superior contributions to the association and the legal profession. We also recognize industry excellence through other awards, fellowships and recognition programs.

If you know someone who has made a difference, we welcome your nominations.

Categories include:

Cecilia I. Johnstone Award

This award recognizes women who have achieved professional excellence in their field, who have influenced other women to pursue legal careers, and who have supported career advancement or opened doors for women lawyers in a variety of job settings...

Douglas Miller Rising Star Award

The Award recognizes an early career lawyer who is a CBA member in good standing and who exhibits: professional excellence; service to the profession; and outstanding dedication and team spirit in his or her ongoing involvement with the CBA.

Jack Innes Award

The Jack Innes award recognizes outstanding contribution to the CBA by a current staff member who has exhibited creativity, innovation, leadership and commitment. These qualities may be exhibited through their work (but not limited to) originality...

John Tait Award of Excellence

Recognizes a public sector lawyer or law office that has achieved the highest standards of professional conduct and competence and made significant contributions to social justice or community affairs.

Municipal Law Section Student Essay Contest
  • October 02, 2019

The CBA Municipal Law Section has established its inaugural essay contest related to general topics in municipal law. The objectives of the contest are to promote and reward interest in municipal law topics in Canadian law schools and to encourage...