How Sections Work

National Sections Council

The National Sections Council oversees all National Section activities. We are dedicated to enhancing the profile and contribution of National Sections within the Canadian Bar Association.

We represent Sections on various CBA Standing Committees that correspond to key Section activities, such as the Communications, Membership, Professional Development, and Legislation and Law Reform Committees.

Sections Governance

The National Sections Council (NSC) is composed of the NSC Executive and the Chair of each National Section.

The NSC Executive consists of:

  • Chair and Vice-Chair, who are past Chairs of National Sections
  • Four Executive Members, who are either Chairs or past Chairs of National Sections
  • Immediate past Chair of NSC
  • CBA Second Vice-President
  • Professional Development Committee Chair
  • Legislation and Law Reform Committee Chair
  • Membership Committee Vice-Chair

The NSC meets three times per year:

  • Fall, in Ottawa
  • February, in conjunction with the CBA Mid-Winter Meeting in Ottawa
  • August, in conjunction with the CBA Annual Conference

Between meetings of the NSC, the NSC Executive acts on behalf of Sections.


Every year we celebrate the outstanding contribution of a National Section. Our National Sections Award of Excellence honours exceptional service to members and the advancement of the CBA’s objectives. See award opportunities

Contact Us

Our NSC contact page lists our National Sections Council Executive members and 32 Section Chairs.