Home Accessibility    Home    Branches    Join/Renew    CBA PracticeLink    Contact    Français       

CBA.org Home
About Advocacy Events Interest Areas
Membership Prof. Develop. Publications Public/Media Member Resources
Roderick A. Macdonald Wins Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law 2010

Roderick A. Macdonald Wins Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law 2010
<< Back

August 13, 2010

NIAGARA – Constitutional scholar and McGill University law professor Roderick A. Macdonald, has been named the winner of the Canadian Bar Association's (CBA) 2010 Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the law.

“Prof. Macdonald is a giant in the law and legal scholarship in Canada, who has been a profound influence on 30 years worth of scholars, graduate students, and undergraduate law students in Quebec and abroad,” said CBA President Kevin Carroll, Q.C., of Barrie, Ontario. “He has shaped our fundamental understanding of the law, the development of the law, and our approach to legal education.”

Prof. Macdonald teaches and publishes in the areas of civil law, commercial law, administrative law, constitutional law, jurisprudence and access to justice. He was Dean of McGill’s Faculty of Law from 1984 to 1989. He chaired a Task Force on Access to Justice of the Minister of Justoce of Quebec (1989-91), as well as a Task Force on SLAPP Lawsuits for the same Minister (2007-2008). He has been a consultant to the Civil Code Revision Project in Quebec, to the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, to the Ontario Civil Justice Review and to the Federal Department of Justice on the interaction of federal law and the Civil Code of Quebec.

From 1989 to 1995, Prof. Macdonald was Director of the Law in Society program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and from 1997 to 2000, he was the founding President of the Law Commission of Canada. He was the principal consultant for the drafting of the revised law on secured transactions in Ukraine (2002-2003) and since 2002, has been a member of the Canadian delegation to UNCITRAL’s Working Group VI (secured transactions).

In November 2008, Prof. Macdonald was elected the 111th president of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) at its annual general meeting in Ottawa. He is the first law professor ever to have been elected president of the RSC. 

Established in 1993, by then Governor General Ramon John Hnatyshyn, the Hnatyshyn Award for Law recognizes outstanding contribution to the law or legal scholarship in Canada. The 2010 CBA Hnatyshyn Award will be presented at the CBA Awards Lunch on Saturday, August 14, at the Sheraton on the Falls, Great Room C, at 12:30 p.m. The reception is held in conjunction with the CBA 2010 Canadian Legal Conference and Expo in Niagara from August 15-17. The event is open to accredited media. Please contact Hannah Bernstein for accreditation.

The Canadian Bar Association is dedicated to support for the rule of law, and improvement in the law and the administration of justice. Some 37,000 lawyers, law teachers, and law students from across Canada are members.



Hannah Bernstein
The Canadian Bar Association
Aug. 13-17: 905-374-4646
E-mail: hannahb@cba.org

  Copyright © The Canadian Bar Association Privacy Policy    Terms of Use & Disclaimer