Home Accessibility    Home    Branches    Join/Renew    CBA PracticeLink    Contact    Français       

CBA.org Home
About Advocacy Events Interest Areas
Membership Prof. Develop. Publications Public/Media Member Resources
The James H. Bocking Memorial Award
The James H. Bocking Memorial Award
Back to Awards

The James H. Bocking Memorial Award is established by the National Competition Law Section (the "Section") of The Canadian Bar Association in memory of the late James H. Bocking (1947-1999), former Assistant Deputy Director of Investigation and Research at the Competition Bureau, to recognize his contribution to Canadian competition law and policy during many years as an official of the Bureau.




The award consists of a monetary prize of $2,500, as well as a complimentary registration for the Section's Annual Fall Conference at which time the award will be presented. The Section pays travel and accommodation expenses (within reason) incurred by the recipient (or by one of the recipients in the case of a joint paper) in connection with his or her participation in the Conference at which the award is presented.The winning paper for the James H. Bocking Memorial Award is also published in the Canadian Competition Law Review.

Criteria & Eligibility

The award is presented annually for the best scholarly paper submitted to the Section on a subject directly relating to Canadian competition law or policy. The papers should specifically address competition law and policy, rather than a more general law or economics topic. All full time students or lawyers within three years of their call to the Bar as of June 30, 2016, are eligible to enter. Only one award will be granted to the chosen paper, regardless of the number of authors, and all authors must meet the above eligibility criteria.

Submission & Selection Process

  • Papers must be submitted with a completed application form.
  • The author's name should not appear on the paper itself, but should instead be submitted under separate cover letter setting forth the author's full name, address, school or employer, daytime telephone number, fax number and e-mail address.
  • The paper should be a maximum of 40 pages, double spaced, in length.
  • Submissions may be sent by mail, fax, or email.
  • The deadline for submissions is June 30, 2016. Any entries received after the deadline will not be considered.
  • The recipient of the award will be selected by a jury.

Entries may be submitted to:

Joyanne Hyman
Liaison Officer - National Sections & Forums
The Canadian Bar Association
500-865 Carling Avenue
Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5S8
Phone: (613) 237-2925 Ext.163 or
Toll Free: (800) 267-8860
Fax: (613) 237-0185
E-mail: joyanneh@cba.org  

The James H. Bocking Memorial Fund

The award is made possible by the James H. Bocking Memorial Fund established by the Section and consisting of contributions from family, friends, colleagues, law firms, business organizations and government agencies. The fund is used exclusively for the purpose of financing the award and incidental expenses relating thereto.



Deadline for Submissions:

June 30, 2016


Joyanne Hyman
Liaison Officer - National Sections & Forums
Canadian Bar Association


  Copyright © The Canadian Bar Association Privacy Policy    Terms of Use & Disclaimer